IBBME faculty, staff recognized for research, teaching and service distinction

Three faculty and staff members from the Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering (IBBME) were recognized for research, teaching and service distinction at the Celebrating Engineering Excellence reception on April 26.

Andrey Shukalyuk, who has served as IBBME’s teaching laboratory coordinator since 2012, was presented with the Harpreet Dhariwal Emerging Leader Award. The recognition, renamed in memory of a past recipient, highlights a staff member who leads by example in their dedication to the Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering’s mission.

In his position, Shukalyuk has made exceptional contributions to curriculum development and delivery for biomedical engineering lab courses. In particular, he played a key role in the expansion and improvement of IBBME’s teaching facilities, and has worked with students and faculty to ensure the best possible learning experience for students using these facilities.

Specifically, Shukalyuk spearheaded successful funding proposals which allowed for the installation of leading-edge audio-visual technology and the replacement of outdated microscopes with research-grade equipment.

He has also worked closely with faculty on the development of lab courses to ensure appropriate skill development and continuity.

“Andrey’s leadership has resulted in a facility that has become a showcase for next-generation laboratory teaching,” his award citation reads.

Professor Warren Chan was also recognized for his appointment as the U of T Distinguished Professor of Nanobioengineering, while Professor Craig Simmons was presented with the Faculty Teaching Award at the event. Both honours were announced earlier this year.

“It’s a great pleasure to bring our community together every year to acknowledge and celebrate the tremendous accomplishments of our faculty and staff” said Dean Cristina Amon. “On behalf of the Faculty, I offer heartfelt congratulations to the awardees, and thank all our faculty and staff members for their hard work, dedication and commitment to excellence.”

With files from Carolyn Farrell; photos by Roberta Baker.